The Old Rectory, Wimbledon
Buy a print
|Partial / Incomplete Date||c.1977|
|Notes / History||The current Rectory is smaller than its Tudor ancestor, which in addition to bedrooms, could boast a large hall, a withdrawing room, parlour, kitchens, a pantry, larder, meat room, buttery, dairy, brewhouse, bakehouse, washhouse and a granary.
The grounds also contained a barn, stables, mews for hawks, dovecotes, henhouses, an orchard and a fig walk,
Built c.1500 for the wealthy pre-Reformation rectors of St. Mary’s, from 1550 this was home to William Cecil, Lord Burghley, chief adviser to