Old houses in Mitcham: Vine Cottage
Buy a copy
|Notes / History
|The name Vine Cottage can just be made out on the front gate. The house was very picturesque and attracted the attention of a number of local artists, and paintings of the house hung in the committee rooms and corridors of the Town Hall.
Vine Cottage stood on Lower Green West opposite Hall Place (now Cricket Green School), and was thought to be the oldest house in the parish, probably dating back to the Tudor period.
The house was used as a school during the nineteenth century. It was last occupied in about 1890 and was eventually demolished. The parish beadle had been a resident, and the block of police flats which replaced the cottage was named Beadle Court and Vine Court.