Reverend Lancaster's Academy, Eagle House, Wimbledon
Buy a print
|Partial / Incomplete Date||c.1810|
|Copyright 1||J Kenrick|
|Notes / History||A village schoolmaster, subsequently ordained as a minister, Thomas Lancaster moved to Wimbledon during the late 18th century.
His first school at Parson’s Green had suffered from excessive competition for pupils with other area schools, and he calculated that Eagle House, with its fine brick façade and picturesque gardens, would be more likely to impress parents.
The Wimbledon school for young Noblemen and Gentlemen opened in 1790. Students were taught reading, writing and elocution, in addition to Arithmetic, Geography and History. As befitted the sons of the wealthy, the school curriculum also included several languages, including Latin, Greek and French. Lessons were learned by heart and progress was monitored with weekly tests.