Wimbledon County School for Girls: The Gymnasium
Buy a print
|Partial / Incomplete Date||c.1933|
|Notes / History||The Wimbledon County School for Girls acquired a gymnasium in 1933, testament to the fundraising skills of its teachers and pupils. Although the school had moved into its permanent home in 1924, many of the rooms weren't completed until 1927, and as the school grew and modernised, continuous improvements, like this gymnasium, were needed.
The school was initially founded in 1905 as a teacher's training centre, but a secondary school naturally grew up around it, which was formally recognised in 1907. Despite this, due to the war and other issues, the Wimbledon County School did not acquire a building of its own until 1924. The school closed in 1969 when Merton reorganised their comprehensive educational system, and was merged with the Rickards Lodge School.